2013 Dorothy Day Humanitarian Award Recipient

2013 Dorothy Day Humanitarian Award - Anne Straitiff

 Each year the past recipients of the Dorothy Day identify a volunteer or group that honors the mission of Dorothy Day. Anne Straitiff embodies the spirit of Dorothy Day in her service to WSCC, St. Ignatius High School, St. Raphael Parish and the community. Anne is dedicated, compassionate and gives so much of herself.

 Anne volunteers every Thursday as a Personal Shopper in the Clothing and Household Distribution Program, walking in each week with donations that are needed and requested most frequently. She truly serves each individual with care and compassion.  She serves monthly meals in the Drop-In Center with St. Raphael Parish. She helps clients in the Employment Program find jobs and assists with resumes, applications, and interviewing skills.

 For five years, Anne has been serving as a volunteer in the Zacchaeus Housing Solutions Passages Program as a Companion.  She embraces the families of Zacchaeus in the spirit of Dorothy Day, building trust-filled relationships with formerly homeless women and clients of the WSCC. She supports and encourages them and works with them in their homes and neighborhoods. She has been a Companion since the program inception and consistently invites new people to the WSCC to volunteer. She has facilitated birthday celebrations for the children. She has been there through difficult times with the clients, offering supportive assistance and continues to go the extra mile. Anne reads to the Passages children, sends cards, and maintains supportive relationships with many of the participants.

 Anne engages in many other ministries to people in the community such as writing letters to prisoners, visiting the sick and elderly, and as a St. Ignatius volunteer with the Joseph of Arimathea ministry.  Anne truly embraces Dorothy Day’s spirit of giving of herself to meet the needs of others with humility and compassion.

 On behalf of the Staff, Clients, Board and fellow volunteers, congratulations and thank you Anne Straitiff!